Bloggerific Irony

In previous blogs I have mentioned how I am a huge fan of Mark Cuban, billionaire founder of Broadcast.com and current owner of the Dallas Mavericks. I read his blog pretty religiously. Everytime I get on a computer, which is probably on average 7 or 8 times a day, I instinctively check a list of websites. My gmail, the Dallas Morning News, the SportSay blog, ESPN.com, CNN.com, Drudgereport.com, Facebook.com, and of course Mark Cuban's blog BlogMaverick.com.

I first got into the idea of blogging about 2 years ago. I didn't even know the word blog existed at the time I just posted "Weekly Rants" on my website. Free blog services such as blogger.com, weblogsinc, and wordpress.com were not as common as they are today. My first ever blog entry, although technically it was still a rant, was in January 2004 titled The Boneheadness of the Music Industry. I used the Rant as a platform to vent my frustration with the Music Industry and their inability to use the Internet to their advantage. About nine months later Mark Cuban followed my lead (sarcasm) and blogged When will the music industry do it right? (November 8th 2004) airing much of the same frustration.

Last April, I blogged Great Minds Think Alike focusing on the irony that we both blogged nearly the exact same argument. Then last summer (July 31st 2005) during the height of the Grokster court case Cuban came out again with The definition of insanity: The Music Industry.

Well ironically enough this trend appears to continue. A couple of weeks ago I blogged DVR, TiVo, and the Future of TV comparing the effect of the explosion of digital recording devices on TV to the explosion of peer-to-peer file sharing on the music industry. Well on Friday Cuban blogged The future of the TV commercial is from the past focusing on the need for TV to reinvent themselves on the revenue side of their business model. His argument differs in that he believes commercials will continue to exist as they do today but primetime commercials will become live "reality" style commercials that will be too classic to skip over.

I find this coincidence entertaining and I thought I'd just kind of map out how it all went down. Thanks to those who left IMs with feedback on the new blog format and on the Future of TV blog.

-hj

2 Responses to “Bloggerific Irony”

  1. Jeff Says:

    “Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there”-Will Rogers

  2. hare Says:

    Very needed information found here, thank you for your work

Leave a Reply

