Pet Peeves

While at a bar my last night in Austin a buddy of mine told me about a blog that has become one of my favorite. The blog is written by Scott Adams who is the cartoonist who draws the Dilbert cartoon. He is quite possibly the wittiest person I have ever read. I highly suggested bookmarking his blog or adding the RSS feed to your reader.

A couple months ago he wrote a blog about his pet peeves. I thought the post was hilarious and I have been thinking what funny personal pet peeves do I have? Well I have come up with the list.

“I never watch TV”
This one was parodied in Pulp Fiction when Samuel Jackson asks ‘You know the shows on TV?’ and John Travolta boasts ‘I don’t watch TV’ as if they makes him cool. Jackson then burns him with ‘Yeah, but you are aware there is an invention called television and on this invention they show shows, right?’ Why do people believe that their not watching TV is such a bragable quality?

Miss use of Literally
For some reason it completely whips me when people use the word literally in the exact wrong way. For instance if someone is talking about a comedian and how well they did. “The comedian was great. He literally was killing everyone”. No! You use the word literally to convey that you are not speaking metaphorically that you actually mean something is happening. For instance. “He literally kicked his ass” when you are trying to tell someone that he didn’t just beat somebody up but he actually kicked the guy in the butt.

The term 9-to-5
How did the phrase 9-to-5 come to be? Most everybody who does not work a shift job works 8-to-5. I have never worked a job that was 9-to-5 and on top of that I have never even heard of someone who works 9-to-5. I’ll admit this one is a pet peeve mostly because I am jealous.

People who ask a waiter/waitress if food is good
Asking a waiter if a certain dish is good is a completely subjective question. What they may like you may not like, the question only puts the wait staff in an awkward situation. Better questions are is it salty, is it spicy, how big is the portion. If you ask a subjective question like is this good then don’t get mad if it isn’t. To me thats the real peeve not just asking the question.

“I never invite people to be my Facebook friend”
This is similar to the I don’t watch TV thing. So its cool to have a Facebook profile but not cool to use it or add to it? Honestly who came up with these rules?

When people, inparticularly Spanish speakers,”pronounce” things in Spanish.
If we are speaking English lets pronounce things in English. For instance when someone pronounces the name Maria and the r sounds more like a d if you can imagine that. When you says Mexico you don’t pronounce the x like an h. Why do you switch languages mid sentence. I could pronounce Spanish words in Spanish if I wanted to, anyone could. But we don’t bc its goofy. I never hear people get all puffy sounding and try to pronounce entrepreneur like they speak French. Thank God too how annoying would that be.

People who are overly paranoid
People who are scared of using a cell phone at a gas station. People who are overly scared of getting struck by lightening. People who are obsessive about locking the door. Freaking chill out, the world is not out to get you. News flash the planets revolve around the Sun contrary to the impression you give.

Laws to protect people from themselves
If a persons decisions or mistakes can hurt or even just affect someone else then okay pass the law if you absolutely have to. But laws that protect people from themselves when there is no chance they could hurt someone else. As long as the person is 18 and deemed old enough to make a decision let them live with their mistake. (motorcycle helmets, seat belts)

What pet peeves do you have?

-hj

9 Responses to “Pet Peeves”

  1. BBBob Says:

    When bloggers use “miss use” instead of misuse (or should it be Mr. Use or Ms. Use?

    When people use idioms that they have NEVER read, only heard and they butcher them:
    For all intensive purposes vs. Forall intents and purposes,
    I was raped over the coals vs. I was raked over the coals,

    And finally my Biggest Pet Peeve is when a retail employee or a waiter/waitress answers my “Thank You” with “No Problem” – of course it’s No Problem – you should be Thanking me.

  2. mattuous Says:

    When people say they need to itch something. You don’t itch an itch, you scratch an itch.

  3. joe joe Says:

    1. hard butter
    2. dentists that talk to you with stuff in your mouth
    3. dean and yoomy commercials
    4. big trucks going over speed bumps at 1 mph
    5. moms that use the ‘birth card’ at every opportunity

  4. 2005 toyota matrix Says:

    2005 toyota matrix

    ha-rd-po-rn-fu-ck 1849286 –>2005 toyota matrix

  5. first houston mortgage Says:

    first houston mortgage

    Good information source for first houston mortgage.

  6. cambodia girl Says:

    cambodia girl

    ka-ka-sh-ka 1849286 cambodia girl co

  7. aspen stage crib Says:

    aspen stage crib

    Variants of aspen stage crib.

  8. WP Says:

    90 Blog Themes

    download 90 themes for your blog

  9. Lacie Roberie Says:

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

Leave a Reply

